Home

http://figureground.org/a-conversation-with-joanne-greenbaum/

I really got a lot out of reading this interview with Joanne Greenbaum. I feel like it gives me permission to keep doing the stuff I’ve been doing in my own practice.

For example; she doesn’t have a plan while working, she just works it out as she goes along, she uses the energy of drawing in her paintings, that’s something I’ve been trying to do for a while. She recognises the presence of 3D space in her work like a still life or something sculptural, I also recognise this in my work although I would say i see landscapes in my work quite often also. She explores painting by experimenting with other materials like clay, I have done this with plasticine and cardboard but I would love to use clay too.

She also says that being an artist is a lifetime commitment and you don’t have to live in NYC to do it, you just have to keep going and keep making, despite everything being against you to some extent.

Leave a Reply

